Minimum Required Language Proficiency Test Scores

Based on the information provided in the application form, NNAS will determine applicants that will require a language test to demonstrate an acceptable level of proficiency in either English or French (depending on where an applicant is applying for registration). 

Only the following agencies have been approved by NNAS for testing:

  • International English Language Testing System (IELTS) . Only the IELTS Academic test is accepted
  • Canadian English Language Benchmark Assessment for Nurses (CELBAN)
  • Test d'évaluation du français (TEF)
Test Component IELTS Academic CELBAN TEF
Speaking 7.0 8 5
Listening 7.5 10 5
Reading 6.5 8 4
Writing 7.0 7 4
Overall 7.0 n/a n/a
Vocabulary n/a n/a 4

Combined scores from different tests are not acceptable; scores must be obtained from a test taken at the same sitting. Only language test scores forwarded directly to NNAS from the testing agency will be accepted.  Test results are only valid for 2 years from the time of writing.

Return to FAQ.