NNAS Supports Court Ruling in Favour of APEGA

Regulator's Registration Requirements Upheld

Toronto, ON – February 23, 2016

The National Nursing Assessment Service (NNAS) is pleased with the recent court decision in Association of Professional Engineers and Geoscientists of Alberta (APEGA) v Mihaly, 2016 ABQB 61. The court did not find that the APEGA was in violation of the Human Rights Code for its approach to assessing education requirements of internationally educated engineers and upheld the regulator’s registration requirements.

The NNAS has followed this case with interest as the not-for-profit, pan-Canadian organization that provides education credential assessment services for its 21 Regulatory Body organizational members from across nine provincial jurisdictions. The assessment services include registered nurses, licensed practical nurses and registered psychiatric nurses.

The NNAS understands, and is experienced in dealing with the complexity associated with assessing education credentials based on evidence. It assesses international nursing education programs against Canadian standards that are evidence-based and based on the information and documentation provided by internationally educated nurses (IENs). Assessments, based on this approach, do not draw conclusions or make inferences about the quality of the IEN’s nursing program and education, but simply make a conclusion about the program’s comparability to the Canadian standards NNAS uses, based on the information provided by the IEN.

Our organization strives for transparency, timeliness and predictability across jurisdictions and most importantly, we apply rigorous standards for assessing qualifications and protecting the public.

About NNAS

The National Nursing Assessment Service was created in 2012 by Canadian nursing regulators working with the provincial and federal governments, to create a streamlined process for IENs to submit their documents for Canadian nursing registration. Its membership consists of the 21 licensed practical nurse, registered nurse and registered psychiatric nurse regulatory bodies in Canada, except Quebec and the territories. NNAS is governed by a 12-member board of directors representing the three regulated nursing groups. It was funded by the regulatory bodies and provincial governments, with subsequent and by the Government of Canada’s Foreign Credential Recognition Program. 

Posted on February 23, 2016 .